Classify gamma linolenic and arachidonic acid | Homework Help

Unsaturated fatty acids are often classified according to the number of carbon atoms between the terminal methyl carbon (the omega carbon) and the closest double bond to the methyl end of the chain. An omega 6 fatty acid, for example, would have a double bond in position 6 counting from the methyl end of the molecule.

Classify, gamma-linolenic, arachidonic acid, eicosapentaenoic acid(EPA), palmitoleic acid, linoleic acid, oleic acid, and alpha-linolenic acid into the following categories: omega-3, omega-6, omega-7, or omega-9.

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Classify gamma linolenic and arachidonic acid | Homework Help
For $10/Page 0nly
Order Essay

This classificaiton is important becase it emphasizes the biosynthetic relationships between various polyunsaturated fatty acids. which of the fatty acid classes cannot be made by mammals, and are therefore considered dietary essential fatty acids? (Choose all that apply)

a.) omega-3
b.) omega-6
c.) omega-7
d.) omega-9



Calculate the price of your paper

Total price:$26

Need a better grade?
We've got you covered.

Order your paper